New Year, new me? Nah.

Hello fellow bloggers and Happy New Year! Instead of giving my cliche “New Year Resolution” or the whole “new year new me” spiel, I’m hoping this year will be different. This is my first blog post of the new year and I’m hoping it helps me out. 2016 wasn’t necessarily a bad year, but it definitely wasn’t easy. As a nursing major, I have literally studied my butt off. The first semester in the program was absolutely amazing, but this past semester, we had to take care of actual patients. It truly made me realize how much that I want to succeed and be the best nurse possible. My patients have taught me so much and each and every one of them were absolutely phenomenal. Clinical was my favorite experience. As for class work, I did my homework, I studied and didn’t do so great, but I did come out strong! I did pretty good on my finals.

Now for my social life, I didn’t have much time to get out, but I did. I think I may or may not have studied more than I slept.. oops.. On the plus side, my clinical group is full of nothing but amazing human beings and I couldn’t be more thankful for them, especially Ashley. This girl has kept me sane for a year now and I wouldn’t change it for the world. I have lost so much in 2016, but I am truly thankful for what I’ve gained. I was actually really surprised to see who my true friends were in the end. Note to self, keep your circle tight. To the few that stuck around, thank you so so much. You mean the world to me and I would do absolutely anything for you.

I never realized how much anxiety, stress, and depression could take over my life. This past fall semester has probably been the hardest. Between family emergencies and missing my mom, it was hard. Luckily, everything turned out okay in the end. I’m hoping that 2017 can bring me true happiness. I don’t want to care what people think anymore. Before, I use to put everybody’s happiness before my own, but that is going to change. I deserve to be happy for once. I’m also going to continue my amazing gym routines with Ashley. We kicked butt all semester, cardio and lifting three days a week really gives a girl some muscles!

New year, new me? Nah. New year, same me. Same me, but much happier and much healthier.

Fingers crossed that 2017 is my year!

Leave a Reply

