Mom, my hero.

I’ve officially been back at KSU for two weeks and I am missing my mom like crazy. This is why I decided to dedicate this to her, to my best friend and my other half. Ever since I was younger, I grew up becoming closer and closer to my mom. I always looked up to her and I still continue to do so. She is truly the most amazing woman I have ever met in my entire life. She is the one who inspired me to be a nurse. She showed me how to love and take care of others. She showed me how amazing it feels to care for others. My mom is the epitome of a superhero. This woman busts her behind to provide for her family.

Ever since my dad passed away, roughly eleven years ago, she had to play both roles. She had to be mom and dad. She was the one getting my brothers and I ready for dances. She had to teach my brothers how to tie their ties. She was there when they got hurt. She experienced two out of three of us graduate high school. She will even be here to walk me down the aisle one day. My mom was always there for us and she would do absolutely anything for us. I can call her in the middle of the night and I know she is there for me (I have done this a few times). She is always there to calm me down, help me through my panic attacks, and always makes me laugh when I need it. This woman even drives an hour and a half to Kent just to bring me my medicine and turn right back around to go home. What other amazing human being gives up her only Saturday to do that? Anyone who can deal with me 24/7 and still love me is a superhero in my book. With her being a single parent, I can only imagine how hard it is for her. From my point of view, its probably one of the hardest things she’s ever done, but shes never given up.

Between moving, heartbreaks, and plenty more that she didn’t deserve, my mom has been through just about everything. No matter what happened, she always made it through and came out even stronger. She is the person who makes me stronger as a person. She has always supported my brothers and I in whatever we did, and we couldn’t have asked for more. My mom has to be the strongest person I know and I truly hope to be half of the woman she is, as I become older.

If any of you are reading this and know my mom, you know that she would do anything for anyone. She will always put everyone else’s happiness before her own. This is what makes her such a genuine and beautiful person. Mom, if you’re reading this, I love you to the moon and back and so much more! You are such an extraordinary person and I want to grow up and be just like you. You are truly my other half and if it wasn’t for you, I’m not sure where I would be today. You truly never cease to amaze me. You deserve the biggest house, the nicest car, and to be taken care of for the rest of your life. You deserve a break. I am sorry that I can’t help even more, especially when you deserve the world. When I finally graduate nursing school, I promise you that I will take care of you for once. I will finally give you everything you deserve. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for absolutely everything you do for me. I will never be able to thank you enough.

Ladies and gentlemen, this is why my mom is my hero.

2 thoughts on “Mom, my hero.

  1. Mom says:

    I am speechless, you are also my hero! You help keep me motivated in being the best mom I can! I love you to the moon and back and then some💕🌙

    Like

  2. JoAnna Sponaugle says:

    Your mom is a hero…A super hero!! She raised a lovely, beautiful, respectful, loving daughter like you!! (And your brother’s too) I’ve known you since you were very young, and she did an exceptional job!! Everything you wrote is beautiful and completely true! So great to see a child that knows what a parent goes through to raise and help their children. It’s not an easy road today being a single parent…And I respect your Mom for everything she has done for all of you.

    Like

Leave a comment